Skip to content

Anthro-inspired Keyhole Scarf Pattern

October 31, 2011

A few months ago, I stumbled upon a fabulous blog, “Five Days, Five Ways“.   Its author, Abbie, has a different feature for each day of the week.  Mondays are for fitness, Tuesdays are for trying new things, Wednesday is fashion day (where I learned about her, via the Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday), and so on.  I love that she finds the most marvelous outfits at thrift stores, then puts them together in such a stylish way.  She does the same for her home, too.

As much as I love her blogs (yes, she has two–how does she do it?), I like her more as a person and sister in Christ.  The good old world-wide-web truly does open up the possibilities for friends to meet and make.

Back in August she posted a link to a blanket she admired, and I shyly in a sort of star-struck way e-mailed her and told her that I crochet and could help her via the web if she wanted to learn.  She sent me a link to a scarf she liked.   I thought “I could make that!”.  I noticed it was knitted, but looked like it would translate to crochet.

So, after examining the pictures many times, and a few false starts, this is what I came up with:

Keyhole scarf in antique teal

In the spirit of friendship, I sent three scarves to Abbie.  I am so glad to have brought a smile to her during a tough week.  And guess what else?  She is having a big November giveaway to benefit Parental Care Ministries, and you can win your own Anthro-esque scarf, made by me!  Go here for all the details.

But wait, there’s more!  Wanna make your own scarf?  Here’s my original pattern. It works up quick and easy. . .perfect for Christmas gifts.

Anthro-inspired Keyhole Scarf

Worsted weight yarn, size H hook, yarn needle for weaving in ends

Yarns tested for pattern:   Patons Classic Wool, Vanna’s Choice, Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn

Remember that when working in double crochet, the turning chain counts as a dc, so skip over the first dc when you start each row, and make sure to dc in the top of the turning chain when you get to the end of the row.

Chain 102.

Row 1     dc  in 4 ch from hook and each chain across. Ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 2     dc in front loop only along each dc.  Ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 3     dc in back loop only (five dc).  Chain 10, skip over 10 dc (10 ch, 10 dc sp). Dc in back loop only along remaining dc (85 dc).  Chain 3, turn (100 st)

Row 4     dc flo across (85 dc).  dc in each ch sp (10 dc).  dc flo (5 dc) ch 3, turn (100 st)

Row 5     dc blo across.  ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 6     dc flo across.  ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 7    dc blo across.  ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 8     dc flo across,  ch 3, turn (100 dc)

Row 9     dc in back loop only (five dc).  Chain 10, skip over 10 dc (10 ch, 10 dc sp). Dc in back loop only along remaining dc (85 dc).  Chain 3, turn (100 st)

Row 10     dc flo across (85 dc).  dc in each ch sp (10 dc).  dc flo (5 dc) ch 3, turn (100 st)

Row 11    dc blo across, ending in the top turning chain. fasten off.

To make ends of scarf:

With right side (ribbed side) facing, attach yarn with a slip stitch to the corner, and ch 3.  Dc evenly across, ending in an odd number.  chain 3, turn  (23 dc)

Row 2    2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row (you will be decreasing by two on each row).  Dc in the front loop only across.  ch 3, turn.  (21 dc)

Row 3     2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc in the back loop only across.  Ch 3, turn (19 dc)

Row 4      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc flo across.  Ch 3, turn (17 dc)

Row 5      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc blo across.  Ch 3, turn (15 dc)

Row 6      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc flo across.  Ch 3, turn (13 dc)

Row 7      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc blo across.  Ch 3, turn (11 dc)

Row 8      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc flo across.  Ch 3, turn (9 dc)

Row 9      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc blo across.  Ch 3, turn (7 dc)

Row 10       2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc flo across.  Ch 3, turn (5 dc)

Row 11      2 dc tog in the first and last stitches of the row.  Dc blo across.  Ch 3, turn (3 dc)

Row 12.      2 dc tog in the last dc sp and turning ch.  end off.  Repeat for other end of scarf.  Weave in ends.

Close-up of keyhole and ribbing detail

Love the ribbing!

Scarf end detail

I think it looks great worn backwards for more of a cowl look.  You could also make it longer if you wanted by increasing your starting chain.  I hope you have fun making it–for yourself or a friend.

Now I’d better get back to work on my dottie angel blanket!

Tip Junkie handmade projects

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 3:38 pm

    wow! i wish i could crochet that well!! i can only sort of knit but i’m still on knit one, purl one. 🙂 and it can’t be in anything but a square or rectangle (maybe one day i’ll push myself to break the right angle…). love the blog!!

  2. November 2, 2011 1:03 am

    Molly, Molly, Molly! How many links can a girl hope to get in one post! You sweet thang! I will have to keep experimenting with my lovely scarves because I still don’t think I’m tying them quite right, but I love them just the same. I wish that pattern made a lick of sense to me. Someday…someday.

  3. November 5, 2011 11:58 am

    Wow, you did a very good job! Maybe I’ll try it some time, but I want to try so much.

  4. nicole permalink
    November 8, 2011 8:19 am

    how talented! wish i could try 🙂 i’m stopping by from the lovely poppy and would love for you to stop by and check out the huge giveaway that ends this thursday- http://thelovelypoppy.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-follower-giveaway.html xoxo nicole

Trackbacks

  1. Pyrex and Dansk « Vintage Velda

Comments most welcome

