Skip to content

Bound for the Roadshow?

October 24, 2011

God truly blessed me last week with some great finds at the thrift store (including a brand-new Bunn coffeemaker, which I have wanted forever).  Our family’s finances are in sort of a scary place, and we have been living with only one car since last November when my husband wrecked his Baja (0n a side note, he rolled his vehicle into a rock cliff after avoiding a deer, and walked away with only a scratch.  Praise God for 3000 pounds of Subaru steel).  Anyway, to find things like an expensive coffeepot for cheap and a new Leapster for my little ones makes me very thankful.

Well, last Thursday my youngest boys and I set out to check out what the GW had to offer that day.  Thomas was off from school so we went to breakfast and then headed in.  We had been there around 20 minutes or so when I heard those magic words: “Attention Goodwill shoppers, we will be bringing out a wares cart shortly”.  I quickly became one of the buzzards hovering.  I spotted a stack of Pyrex bowls, so as soon as the cart rolled to a stop I grabbed those (will share photos soon).  Then, on the top of the cart, I saw this vase:

The vase

As you may know, I am drawn to objects with birds in the design, so this vase stood out and I grabbed it.  I did the old “turn it over and look for the mark” shuffle.  No marking, and no price sticker from the GW.  And then I saw this:

sticker reads "nnxxx $4,500"

better close-up of sticker

Heart racing, I gathered the boys and raced to the front with my find.  They had to call the manager up to price it, since it wasn’t marked.  She barely glanced at and said “$2.00”.  Sold!  We carried it home like a newborn baby.

Now, here’s the thing, I can’t find out anything about it.  The sticker that reads $4,500″ is attached very firmly, so I don’t think it is a fluke.  But the vase is not marked anywhere.  It is very well made, and let me tell you, it almost glows.  

So what do you think?  Have I found the ticket to a car down payment?  Have I saved us from financial ruin like Scarlet wearing her dress of emerald drapes?  Or have I found a beautiful vase for two bucks that I can and will enjoy and laugh about my silliness, trusting God to provide for our every need?

If you have any ideas about the origins of this piece and would be willing to share, I would love you forever and bake you some cookies, too.

A close-up of the design

Linking up this week to these thrifty show-off parties:

Her Library Adventures

Apron Thrift Girl

Nifty Thrifty Tuesdays

Magpie Mondays

Club Goodwill 

What I Love About the Thrift Store

Don’t miss the Vintage Velda Collecting party! 

Blog about something you collect and come back and link it up here:

This party goes on until November 8th, and everyone who links up will be featured in a future blog post!

We’ve already got some great collections linked up. . .go here to check them out!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 12:15 pm

    It looks like Mexican Pottery so the price would be in Pesos which also uses the $ symbol. I don’t know how to convert it though. I have a few pieces of pottery that have those prices on them and i left them – makes it fun! Sorry that i don’t think you hit the Roadshow. Wish we all could!

  2. LaLa permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:31 pm

    If the first poster is correct and that amount is indeed in Mexican pesos, your vase would be worth around 340.00US, I believe. Not 4k, but not too shabby for a $2US investment, either.

    It is a lovely vase.

    I read your story and said a prayer for you and your family. You’re all very brave!

  3. October 24, 2011 1:26 pm

    Hi, Your vase looks like a Ken Edwards – Tonala pottery. They are made in Mexico (hence the price) and they are well liked in the States. Many people collect them. Price depends on size, color, signature, but they sell for $20 to $40. Hope this helps

  4. Lisa permalink
    October 24, 2011 2:39 pm

    In the early 90’s they devalued the peso, knocking 3 decimal points off. After the devaluation, the US dollar traded for 3 pesos, meaning that the price was $1.50.

    It does look like Ken Edwards, and the glow usually means that it is “burnished”.

  5. October 25, 2011 8:39 am

    What a beautiful vase. Finding treasures at GW is such FUN! I wish I could help you specifically, but this is what I think: that pinky-beige color says “1950s” to me. And it does look like California pottery (which blends into Mexican pottery). There are web sites totally devoted to the subject! I am impressed with Mid Mod Mom’s knowledge!

  6. October 27, 2011 8:25 am

    Well, for your sake, I hope that price is in U.S. dollars and some dealer falls all over himself trying to pay you way too much money for it. : )

    Either way, it’s a sweet deal. I LOVE the bird details!

Trackbacks

  1. Through a glass, sparkly « Vintage Velda

Comments most welcome

