Skip to content

You sweet thang, you.

October 20, 2011

It’s Thursday, so besides watching the St. Louis Cardinals play in the World Series (love you, Chris Carpenter), I’m linking up with Abbie over at Five Days, Five Ways for her weekly blog party.  This week’s theme is “sweet things“, which I should have no trouble with, as sugar is my middle name.  Not really, but Molly “Sugar” bird sounds pretty cute, right?

SWEET THINGS

The St. Louis Cardinals rally squirrel.  During the NLDS, a squirrel ran across home plate while the Phillies were pitching.  It was hilarious!  I was in the weight room at the gym, watching the game but listening to music with my headphones.  I laughed so loudly when it happened that EVERYONE in the gym turned around to look at me.  Then we all started cheering. Since that game, the rally squirrel has become Cardinal Nation’s mascot.  Sweet!

Aw, isn't he cute?

My momma’s apple fritters.  I made some of these this past Saturday for my guys. . .brought back a flood of memories of my childhood. So yummy.  The recipe is from one of my mom’s favorite cookbooks, Practical Cookery. (It is one of my favorites too.  Long before Mark Bittman, this cookbook from Kansas State University taught women how to cook just about everything.  Apple fritter recipe at the end of this post.)

Practical Cookery from KSU

Fried frittery goodness

Who needs Krispy Kreme?

Free People sweater I found yesterday at the thrift.  Does it make me look slightly pregnant? Yes.  Do I care since it so gorgeous?  No.  Also, it is a size medium, which is not my size right now, but it fits fine.  Maternity shirt fine, but still: Free People.

Free People lace cardigan

I love this sweater.

My little guys at the pumpkin patch.  Too sweet for words.

Love my sweet little guys

Fresh Eat perfume.  Fresh came out with a “Eat, Pray, Love” collection around the time of the movie.  I found this brand new bottle at the GW for $4.00 several months ago, and it has become one of my favorite scents. Lemony and sweet, but light.  Sadly, it is discontinued, so I am hoarding my bottle.

Fresh perfumes smell sweet!

Other sweets to savor:  kisses and hugs from my little boys, raspberry chipotle cheddar panini on ciabatta from Whole Foods (made it myself, it was good), apple cider, winning a swag bag from The Creative Connection, new blog friends, old “real world” friends, chilly nights and sunny days.

The Collecting and Collectibles link party is going on all month. . .don’t forget to blog about something you collect and come back and link it up here.  Everyone who links up will be featured in a future blog post.  And while you are at it, check out these fantastic collections!

Apple Fritters:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp sugar

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

1 TB vegetable oil

1 cup peeled apples, cut into small chunks.  (choose a firm, tart apple)

Vegetable oil, for frying

Heat oil.  PLEASE BE CAREFUL! HOT OIL CAN CAUSE SEVERE BURNS!  KEEP BACK AWAY FROM CHILDREN!  whew, now I feel better.  Okay, now sift the dry ingredients together.  Mix the egg, milk, and fat, then slowly beat into flour mixture, being careful not to over mix.  (batter will be thick)  Fold in apples.  Drop by tablespoons into hot oil.  Fry, turning once, until fritters are golden brown.  Remove from oil and drain on paper towels.  Roll in cinnamon sugar or powdered sugar (my favorite).  These will also freeze very well after cooling.  Recipe can also be doubled.

Fritters frying

Also linking up to these great weekend parties:

The Shabby Nest 

Tatertots and Jello

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 11:49 pm

    Fantastic list, Molly! And thank you SO much for the apple fritter recipe! I love apple fritters (maybe my fave breakfast treat whenever I let myself), and I’ve often thought about making a homemade version, but I’ve never followed through because I don’t fry often, and I didn’t want to waste the effort/calories on something subpar. I will definitely be giving these a try!

  2. October 22, 2011 10:55 pm

    All sweetness!
    The fritters remind me of what my aunt called fry cakes that she used to make for family get togethers.

Comments most welcome

