Skip to content

Thrifting and Giving

October 16, 2011

I found two things this week I really loved.  And then I gave them away.

This blue stoneware pitcher turned up early in the week at the thrift.  Remember my pitcher collection?  This one sang to me because of its hefty weight and Prussian blue glaze.  It had half of a paper label on the bottom, written in German (thanks, hubby, for the translation. . .that German degree is paying off!). It is a bit different from my other pitchers, so I was going to use it as a vase or to keep kitchen utensils in.

Wouldn't this be pretty full of fall mums?

Markings on paper tag

On Friday Thomas was off from school, so we decided to go to the pumpkin patch, and we invited my bestie and her little ones.  She wanted us to come by her house first, as they had recently moved and we had not seen their new place.  So I decided that my lovely little pitcher needed to sally forth and live as a housewarming gift for our friends.  And my friend loved it!  I was so happy. . .I think she will treasure it as much as I would have, and I know for me, anything a friend gives me becomes very special.  yay!

Then Friday evening I had to take a return to the GW before those pesky seven days were up, and I spied a cute little purse hanging with the other handbags. (Yes, I always cruise the purses.  Yes, I have an obsession.)  I noticed that it was made from what looked like Dooney & Bourke fabric.  I snapped up, did my return, and paid for it: $3.00.  It is so cute!  Small, but I thought it would be handy to throw in my big do-it all tote.

Dooney tag

But then Saturday morning my friends invited me to go to a big craft show, and I knew my friend’s pre-teen daughter would be there.  Something told me I should give my find to her.  And I did.  And she jumped up and down and hugged me.  Sigh.

I love thrifting.

Don’t miss the Vintage Velda Collecting party! 

Blog about something you collect and come back and link it up here:

This party goes on until November 8th, and everyone who links up will be featured in a future blog post!

We’ve already got some great collections linked up. . .go here to check them out!

Linking up this week to these thrifty show-off parties:

Her Library Adventures

Apron Thrift Girl

Nifty Thrifty Tuesdays

Magpie Mondays

Club Goodwill 

What I Love About the Thrift Store

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 7:06 pm

    I always find things I want to give to other people while I’m thrifting! So cute that you passed them along.

  2. October 16, 2011 9:16 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Your profile is set so that no one can reply to your comments. You might want to change that. I’m a new google follower.

  3. October 17, 2011 7:49 pm

    How sweet of you to pass on your finds to others. I plan on linking up to your collections party as soon as i can figure out what collection to go with.

  4. October 17, 2011 10:34 pm

    Gotta love Club G.W.! You’re so kind to give the “finds” away. Thanks for stopping by my blog….

    xoxo
    kathleen

  5. October 18, 2011 4:42 am

    Lovely finds – I’m sure they’ll be loved by their recipients

  6. October 18, 2011 6:21 am

    How lovely of you to pass on the love!! x

  7. October 18, 2011 11:13 am

    Love both finds so very lucky recipients. Like the jug best out of the two

  8. October 21, 2011 7:49 pm

    I was helping a friend go through some old boxes and we found a bunch of pyrex. I made some calls and told her to give the whole box to a pyrex-loving friend from church. Oh my goodness; the next time I saw her, she was SO excited.

    It makes the hunting that much more fun.

Comments most welcome

