Skip to content

What Do You Collect?

October 12, 2011

When I was a little girl, I often admired a pink pitcher that belonged to my grandmother.  She told me that I could have it when I was “old enough to take care of it”.  Upon moving in to my first apartment, I received a lovely bow-tied box with the pitcher inside, and a note reminding me to “take good care”.  I displayed it proudly right along with my milk crate side tables and mis-matched dishes.

My grandmother's pink pitcher

Artistic Potteries of California

That first apartment was above a country flea-market type store, and from there a few months later I bought my second, a red Universal Cambridge pottery pitcher.  The proprietor warned me to be careful with it, “because it is real old”.  I carried it very carefully upstairs, placed it beside the pink one, and thus a collection was born.

Red Universal pitcher

Markings for red pitcher

I have collected most of these pitchers on my own over the years.  A few have been given to me as gifts, several have come from the GW, and some from yard sales.  I am always on the lookout for them–they just seem to draw my eye.  I have never paid very much for any of them, but I love them all.  I display them on top of my kitchen cabinets.  I love how they brighten up my kitchen!

Yellow McCoy

Orange ball pitcher

Russel Wright in chartreuse

Love the polka dots!

My favorite shade of Fiesta. . .shamrock green

Love the curves on this one

Tall yellow pitcher

Blue ball pitcher--Hall's

markings on the Hall pitcher

Purple and white

Okay, now it is your turn:  What do you collect?  What would you like to collect?  Do you have collecting tips or knowledge you would like to share?  Blog about it and return here, and link up!  Don’t forget to track back to this blog by grabbing the button or displaying a link within your blog entry.  Be sure to check out what others are posting as well, and comment to tell them what you love about their special collection.  This link-up will be held the second Wednesday of each month, so you have the whole month to post your link–hey, we gotta have time for shopping, right?  I can’t wait to see your collections!


PS. . .I’m working on a link list that will display your individual thumbnail from your blog here in this post. . .until then, click on the blue froggy to see the collections!  Thanks, Molly

UPDATE:  Wordpress does not allow outside script (which means no picture thumbnails for this post) but no worries, everyone who contributes a link will be featured in a future post here on Vintage Velda!  and you can still see all the links to the collections by clicking the inlinkz frog above, where you can also add your blog post link.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 11:32 am

    I love your pitchers. I used to collect pitchers (non vintage ones when I had room to display them.) I still enjoy them and really do think they brighten up a room. What a neat gift your grandma gave to you. That one is definitely special.

    I will try to link up a collection of mine later in the week. In the meantime I blogged about your link party here. http://itsstilllife.com/2011/10/12/collections/

    Karen G

  2. October 13, 2011 1:18 am

    What gorgeous pitchers! Who knew they could come in so many unique shapes and sizes! 🙂

  3. October 13, 2011 6:21 pm

    I tried to edit in the link to my post and will try to put in the button but I am having some frustrations! I will definitely know better next week. I collect pitchers too but mostly small ones.

  4. October 28, 2011 11:34 pm

    I have added another collection post. I hope that you do not mind.

  5. February 6, 2013 2:18 pm

    I personally have a tendency to go along with almost everything that was in fact authored throughout “What Do You Collect?
    Vintage Velda”. Thank you for all of the advice.Thank you-Nick

  6. March 11, 2013 6:36 am

    Hi! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent info you have here
    on this post. I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

  7. September 26, 2014 11:45 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and
    I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

Trackbacks

  1. Collections | It's Still Life
  2. Five Fun Fall Things on a Thursday « Vintage Velda
  3. Thrifting and Giving « Vintage Velda
  4. Five Things Thursday: You sweet thang, you. « Vintage Velda
  5. Bound for the Roadshow? « Vintage Velda
  6. It’s the little things. . . « Vintage Velda
  7. Through a glass, sparkly « Vintage Velda
  8. What rhymes with orange? « Vintage Velda
  9. My favorite GW find–2011 « Vintage Velda
  10. Collecting and Collectibles Featured Blogger « Vintage Velda
  11. Today’s Collectibles Party Featured Blogger « Vintage Velda
  12. Pyrex and Dansk « Vintage Velda

Comments most welcome

