Skip to content

A little Byrd told me. . .

October 9, 2011

I first fell in love with the CorningWare “country festival” pattern several years ago when a nice older lady gave me a casserole dish from her garage sale for free.  I think the pattern is so sweet, and I kind of have a thing for birds, since I married into the “Byrd” family.  So, I was excited to add another piece to my small collection when I found this jar:

CorningWare Country Festival storage jar

And here it is with my other two pieces, both casseroles (the free dish is the small lidded one):

My small collection

These pieces aren’t hard to find, so I’m hoping to collect a set for each of the Byrd boys. Here’s a close up of the lidded casserole.  Isn’t that pattern so darling?

I love this pattern

I also found a vintage French peanut jar.  Wouldn’t this be great for a Charles Schultz collector?

Love the font

Unfortunately, the jar is chipped pretty heavily where the latch is.  I guess someone really liked peanuts! I still love it, though.

damage to the rim around base

More salt and pepper shakers. . .love the font on these as well:

mod salt and pepper

these have the original stoppers

On Wednesday, Vintage Velda will be hosting our first ever “Collecting and Collectibles Party”.  I hope you will join us to show off your collections. . .and they don’t have to be vintage.   Pottery, tin toys, rare books, purses, shoes–whatever you collect (or would like to collect) link it up!

I’m linking to these thrifty parties this week:

Her Library Adventures

Apron Thrift Girl

Nifty Thrifty Tuesdays

Magpie Mondays

Club Goodwill 

What I Love About the Thrift Store

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 12:59 am

    love that bird pattern, those pieces are lovely.

  2. October 10, 2011 2:28 pm

    Those salt and pepper shakes are awesome! I have a couple pieces of CorningWare, but they are all different patterns. The birdies are cute!

  3. October 10, 2011 7:51 pm

    I love the peanut jar, I have a very large one that says Misc. on it. The salt & peppers are lovely.

  4. October 10, 2011 9:25 pm

    Love the corning ware. Great pattern!

  5. October 12, 2011 4:53 am

    Such a pretty bird pattern – I’m not surprised you love it!

  6. October 13, 2011 6:11 pm

    Fabulous Fonts! (wish I could change my font for this comment but my technical skills are far too limited).

  7. October 16, 2011 6:34 am

    I love the bird pattern, if I ever came across anything from the range I’d be sure to snap it up!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bound for the Roadshow? « Vintage Velda

Comments most welcome

