Skip to content

Sweet spot: Small-batch sugar cookies

October 5, 2011

Luke often asks to make cookies with me , and it is fun to bake and eat them together.  Sugar cookies are fun to make with kids, because they can cut them out and decorate them and such, but it seems like the recipe always makes so many.  So this morning when he asked, I thought, “why not make a small batch?”  The basic principle of sugar cookies is pretty simple, but as with all baking, you’ve got to get the proportions right.  (and please, please, use real butter!)  After tasting one or two (or seven) we decided this recipe hit the (sweet) spot!

The best cookie taste tester

Here is what the recipe I came up with:

Small Batch Sugar Cookies (makes approximately 5 dozen one-inch sugar cookies)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg yolk, and continue to mix (be sure to scrape down sides of bowl).  Add vanilla and almond extracts.  Sift together flour, salt, and baking powder and add to cream mixture.  Wrap in plastic and chill one hour (oh, the waiting. . .the hardest part!).  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Roll chilled dough out to 1/4 inch thickness on floured surface.  Cut out and place on parchment lined cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with colored sugar or sprinkles as desired.  Bake 8-10 minutes (the longer you bake, the crispier they will become).  Cool on wire rack.

butter and sugar stars

yum

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 12:14 pm

    That sounds yummy. I haven’t made sugar cookies since Christmas, but since I have fall cookie cutters I might whip some up. I like the small batch idea. Who needs to eat 200 cookies?

  2. October 5, 2011 9:40 pm

    I love sugar cookies! This is a great idea – to make a smaller batch. And thanks to Pam’s comment, I remember that I have some thrifted (new in box) autumn cookie cutters I can use. Looks like I’ll be making up a batch of your recipe this weekend! Thanks for sharing.

  3. October 15, 2011 2:46 pm

    This would be so easy to make with my Girl Scout troop for our cooking badge. Thanks for sharing. I’m the link behind you at theTattertots & Jello link party.
    jennifer

Comments most welcome

