Skip to content

Decorating for Autumn

September 28, 2011

The previous owner of our home was a real handyman.  He built-in these shelves that serve as our entertainment center/mantel.  I decorate the top shelf by season, and summer is usually my favorite mantelscape as we collected lots of shells, starfish, and driftwood when we lived in Florida.  We also have a very special beach painting that Rick’s aunt painted for us before she passed away.

For fall, though, I didn’t really have a specific set, other than I display a vingtage landscape photo my mom gave to me, as it is very stark.  I poked around the thrifts and found a few things, then headed to Michael’s for some fabric leaves.  So, without further ado, our fall “mantel”:

Hello, Clifford the Big Red Dog (looks like I need to tuck some cords in, too).

The tall glass vases are from Pottery Barn.  The picture was a gift from my mom, an unsigned black and white photo, which reminds me of where my grandparents live.  Pie pumpkins from the produce stand.  Votive holders, Ikea.  Tumbling ghosts and really cool urn-type thingy from the GW.  “Vintage” pictures of the hubs and me, way before kids made us look old. ha ha  Fabric leaves and orange dried grass from Michael’s.

The middle shelf has a wooden pumpkin and ghost from the GW, along with a green ceramic bowl filled with plastic pumpkins from Michaels, and a framed fall printable.

I”m linking up to the “It’s Fall, Y’all” Autumn Link Party at The Lettered Cottage:

No comments yet

Comments most welcome

