Skip to content

Work in progress: Dottie Angel “Ordinarily Extraordinary” blanket

September 27, 2011

I love the dottie angel blog.  The author, Tif Fussell, takes shabby, granny chic and makes it modern.  I love her list of “do’s”:

dottie angel do’s

1. do have high hopes

2. do follow the righteous
and goodly path of thriftiness

3. do think you are most peachy perfect

4. do feel a little crafty
at least twice a day

5. do wear your slip peeking
out from below your skirt

6. do embrace all that is
granny chic
and give it a forever home

Hmm. . .I think I need to print these rules out and frame them. . .they are spot-on for me!  Anyway, I had been in a crochet slump.  I couldn’t find a pattern I liked, all the yarn in my stash seemed stodgy and old or cheap-looking.  Until I came across this:

Lovely, isn’t it?  So I decided to make one, for myself!  I never do that.  The pattern is easy, no counting pattern required at all (LOVE!).  Not only that, but you join as you go so you don’t have to sew the blocks together at the end (DOUBLE LOVE!)

Here is where I am at so far:

I am so happy to have found crochet inspiration.  I missed the yarn and hook in my hands.

Here is the link if you’d like to make your own:

http://dottieangel.blogspot.com/2010/06/ordinarily-extraordinary-blanket-how-to.html

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 10:48 am

    oh how perfectly peachy! it looks fabby and i am so delighted you were inspired to step out of your crocheting slump… you know perhaps that is what i need to do too! i am in one at the moment and i think another blanket such as this would be grand for the nesting season ahead 🙂
    gold sticky star for you my dear!

  2. September 28, 2011 10:33 am

    I will run right over and check out dottie angel. Glad you got your crocheting mojo back!

Trackbacks

  1. Anthro-inspired Keyhole Cowl Pattern « Vintage Velda

Comments most welcome

